A Reflection on a Saying of a Desert Christian: Abba Moses the Black 3

“To a certain brother, who asked what to do when he had temptations or evil thoughts in his mind, the same elder answered: “Run, weeping, to the goodness of God, crying out with all of the power of your soul, asking aid. God is near to one who appeals to Him, the Holy Scriptures tell us.”

I wonder, do I even recognize temptations or evil thoughts? Do I run to God asking for help to avoid temptation and not to fall into evil? Have the words of the Lord’s Prayer become so rote that I fail to think about what they mean as I pray them?

I fear the answer may be “yes” because I get so caught up in the things of this life. Which, of course, is giving into temptation.

Leave a Reply

