A Reflection on a Saying of a Desert Christian: Abba Poeman 2

“A young monk sadly said the following to the holy Poemen: “My body, Abba, has been weakened by ascetic practices, but my passions do not yield.”

“The passions, my child,” answered the wise Father, “are similar to tough thorns; in uprooting them, your hands of necessity bleed.”

How many of us even think today of challenging our passions, desires, wants to determine if they are consistent with the attempt to live a holy life?  I know I have to be constantly reminded. As a human being, a sinner living in a fallen world among other sinners, it is all too easy for me to want, want, want, want, want things of this world. If only I would remember to seek Jesus with such fervor.

Leave a Reply

