A Reflection on a Saying of a Desert Christian: Makarios

“When I was a child,” the Holy Makarios once said, “I grazed cattle along with other children. One day they went to steal figs and took me along. When we returned to the herd, one of the figs fell from their basket and I picked it up and ate it. Even now that my hair has grown white, I remember that sin and I lament.”

What a tender conscience Makarios had. Do we remember something we did wrong as a child?  Does it have a grip on us?  If so I would say to anyone, including myself, confess the sin to God and accept forgiveness.  May we cease to sin.

Leave a Reply

