Reflection on a Saying of a Desert Christian: anonymous

“The sacred writers of the Old and New Testaments, with the inspiration of the Holy Spirit, authored books,” said a certain elder. “The Fathers took care to apply the writings in their lives. The next generation knew them by heart. But those of modern times have copied them and shut them away in libraries.”

How sad that this is true.  How many of us set aside time in our day to read the Bible?

A couple of years ago, I had this audacious, as it now feels, plan to read the Bible in a year.  I had a book to guide me through reading in the Hebrew Scriptures, the Psalms, Gospels and I forget if the daily plan included any of the letters in the NT or not.  I was to read three chapters from an OT book, pray three psalms and read three chapters of a Gospel. I did it for a while.  Even had a special FB page for it because I thought that would make me more accountable.

Then I had a heart attack.  I was quite ill for quite a while and was barely able to read even the lightest fiction or coziest of mysteries.  If you knew how devoted I am to the written word, you would know I was seriously sick.

Thing is, I am recovered and I haven’t gotten back to that plan.  There are many things that were interrupted by that heart attack but I haven’t gotten back to them either. Inertia, I guess.

Leave a Reply

