Reflections on a Saying of a Desert Christian: Abba Antonios 7

“Once some elders went to visit Abba Antonios. Along with them was Abba Joseph. The Great Father, to test them, chose a certain written maxim and asked each of them, one by one, to tell its meaning. So each one began to explain it according to his understanding

“You did not find its meaning,” he answered each of them.

“Then came Abba Joseph’s turn.

“What do you have to say about this, Joseph?” Antonios the Great asked him.

“I do not know of such things,” he replied.

“Abba Joseph gave the correct answer,” the holy one then said, marveling at Abba Joseph’s humility.”

Something I am very prone to do is shoot words out of my mouth as if I know anything. A good example might be my reflections on these Sayings.  I have been meditating over these Sayings since I first discovered them in 1982. The more I meditate on them, the more I write things to myself about them, I realize I have not begun to plumb the depths of these Sayings and what they have to teach me about loving God with every fiber of my being.

Leave a Reply

