Reflections on a Saying of a Desert Christian: anonymous

“For nine years a monk was tormented by the thought of leaving his monastery. Each evening he packed his clothes and said to himself: “I will leave tomorrow without delay.”

“When day would break, he would reflect: “For the love of Christ, I will be patient today and leave tomorrow.”

“Since he struggled arduously for eight whole years and was not overcome by his thoughts, the Lord took the temptation from him.”

How many times, I wonder, have I been tempted to give up on something because it was Just Too Hard? How many times have I collapsed into bed at night, determined that tomorrow I would cease?  How many times I have awoken and decided to give it one more try and then a day came when I didn’t think of the burden but only the joy I experienced?

Leave a Reply

