Reflection on a Saying of a Desert Chiristian: anonymous amma

“On the road one day, a young monk met some nuns, who were going down to the city. He immediately changed his course, in order to avoid greeting them. Their superior then stopped him and said: “You did well, brother, for your weakness. If you were, however, a perfect monk, you would not have perceived that we are women.”

This Saying always makes me laugh.  The monk doesn’t want any girl cooties, so he avoids the nuns. The Amma, and I wish she had been named,  doesn’t let him get away with it.  I do love strong women.

The lesson I learn from this Saying is that if I encounter things that disturb me, if I were focused enough on God, then they would have no power over me.

Leave a Reply

