Reflection on a Saying of a Desert Christian: anonymous

“When people honor you, humble yourself all the more at that moment, and say in your mind: ‘If they truly knew who I were, they would show me no regard at all.’  In this way, you will not cause injury to your soul,” a wise elder said.”

Reading this, I remember that I was taught that the gracious response to a compliment is to say “thank you”

and leave it at that instead of instructing the complimenter all the ways in which the compliment is undeserved.

Over the years I’ve noticed that when I compliment a person, that person often instructs me all the ways in which the compliment is undeserved.  To which I reply that the gracious response to a compliment is to say “thank you.”

It seems to me as if people are quite ready to brush of good things someone might say about them,  We don’t need a spiritual elder to tell is to reflect on this. 

Something C. S. Lewis said about real humility is that we neither pretend to be better or worse than we are.  We simply accept the person God delighted to create.  Well,Lewis didn’t word it exactly like that, but that’s the gist of it.

It sounds to me like a healthier solution than going around thinking one is a despicable person.  Unless, of course, one is, in which case that does need attention.

Leave a Reply

