Reflection on a Saying of a Desert Christian: Abba Agathon

“An irascible man, even if he is capable of raising the dead,” said Abba Agathon, “will not be received into the Kingdom of Heaven.”

 

Every time I read it, this Saying makes me chuckle ruefully because I am often irascible myself. Cranky people are selfish. It’s all about them, isn’t it? Irritable people can be very hurtful in this self-centeredness. It really doesn’t matter what they are capable of doing, their self-centered petulance dominates.
Why won’t they be received into the Kingdom of Heaven? Tetchy people do not submit their wills to God. So I have to confront my own testiness, I have to search withing myself for the cause of my sin and deal with it. Life is not all about me and my personal druthers. The chief purpose of humanity is to love and enjoy God forever.
Leave a Reply

