Reflection on a Saying of a Desert Christian: Abba Isidoros

“When I was young,” Abba Isidoros relates, “I went down to the city to sell my baskets and, feeling anger seize me, I left my baskets and returned, running, to my cell.”

This Saying demonstrates for us how very seriously the Desert Christians felt about anger.  They regarded it as a sin.  They didn’t believe there was a right to be angry.  They didn’t believe someone was entitled to their anger.  They didn’t believe anger was ever justified

Leave a Reply

