Reflection on a Saying of a Desert Christian: Anonymous

One Father says: “The nearer a man draws to God, the more he sees himself a sinner.”

This is true of my experience.  Is it true for yours?  If one approaches God with reverent awe, one can’t help but notice one sins and has sins and maybe even some guilty pleasure sins.

In The Episcopal Church, we don’t talk about sin very much.  We don’t talk very much about the pursuit of holiness either.  We do talk about following Jesus, becoming more like Jesus. We talk about it positive terms because I guess talking about sin is a downer and we don’t want to have that effect on people.

Which is all well and good. But how is it possible to become more like Jesus unless something within me gives way to that?  Seems to me my personal sins are a barrier. So I pray about them, offer them up, repent, repent, repent, pray to have them go away, live, confident that the Holy Spirit is hard at work within me even if I have no idea what She is doing until She tells me.

Leave a Reply

