Rule of St. Benedict: Chapter 7: On Humility, June 3, 2017

February 2, June 3, October 3
Chapter 7: On Humility

The fifth degree of humility
is that he hide from his Abbot none of the evil thoughts
that enter his heart
or the sins committed in secret,
but that he humbly confess them.
The Scripture urges us to this when it says,
“Reveal your way to the Lord and hope in Him” (Ps. 36:5)
and again,
“Confess to the Lord, for He is good,
for His mercy endures forever” (Ps. 105:1).
And the Prophet likewise says,
“My offense I have made known to You,
and my iniquities I have not covered up.
I said: ‘I will declare against myself my iniquities to the Lord;’
and ‘You forgave the wickedness of my heart'” (Ps. 31:5).

Some thoughts:

In reading this, I take it to mean that Benedict doesn’t think we have any right to think evil thoughts, as human as it may be to do so. He knows we will think them so we are told that we must confess them. How about those sins committed in secret? Maybe no other person sees us, but as were told recently in the RB, God is with us always, sees our every deed, hears our every word, feels our every feeling, knows our every thought.

There is very good reason to confess those evil thoughts and secret sins. Things shoved to the back, away from light and fresh air tend to rot, fester, produce spores and multiply. Ok, the science is probably off, but not the psychology.

It is only when the light pierces the darkness that we are able to see truly, be healed, experience liberation.

Leave a Reply

